Candidates’ Campaign Songs


This campaign season is way too serious.  Sooooo not fun.  So, to trivialize things, here are some suggestions for candidates’ campaign songs.  And since the candidates all seem, well, old, the songs are as well.

Ted Cruz
O Canada! (English lyrics by Robert Stanley Weir)
…O Canada!
Our home and native land!
True patriot love in all thy sons command…

or, if co-opting a national anthem is considered poor form, here’s an alternative
Crazy (lyrics by Willie Nelson)
…I’m crazy for trying and crazy for crying…And I’m crazy…

Donald Trump
These Boots Are Made for Walking (lyrics by Lee Hazelwood)
…One of these days these boots are gonna walk all over you……Are you ready boots? Start walkin’!…

John Kasich
Johnny B Goode (lyrics by Chuck Berry)
…Maybe someday your name will be in lights…..Go, go Johnny go…”

John Edward (Jeb!) Bush  (NOTE:  Jeb has withdrawn from the race)
Johnny Too Bad (combines some lyrics from the version by Winston Bailey, Hylton Beckford and Derrick Crooks and another one by Bunny Wailer)
…Where you gonna run to (oh boy)…
You’re gonna run to the rock for rescue
There will be no rock (no rock)…
Poor Johnny, Johnny you too sad…

Marco Rubio
Silencio (lyrics by Rafael Hernandez)
…Silencio, que estan durmiendo…No quiero que sepan mis penas…
(Shhh! They’re sleeping, … I don’t want them to know about my sorrows)

Hillary Clinton
I’m A Liar (lyrics by Gretchen Peters and Bryan Adams)
… forget what I said; I’m a liar; Yea, Liar; I can’t help myself, I’m a liar …you can’t believe a single thing I say; Liar; Oh yeah; I’m a liar…

Bernie Sanders
America (lyrics by Paul Simon) note–Bernie chose this song
…They’ve all come to look for America
All come to look for America
All come to look for America…

But my pick for Bernie would be
Hair (lyrics by James Rado and Jerome Ragni)
…I’m just a hairy guy; I’m hairy noon and night, hair that’s a fright; I’m hairy high and low, don’t ask me why, don’t know…

 

Comments are closed.